Brian Moggre Kicks Off HITS Ocala Winter Circuit With a Win in The $50,000 HITS Grand Prix

Ocala, Fla. – Jan. 21, 2019 – Week one of the HITS Ocala Winter Circuit was off to a strong start for many riders last week. The Ocala January Classic kicks off ten weeks of USEF-Rated show jumping competition. Check out some of the highlights from this week below.

Starting off the week, Hayley Waters took home top honors in the $5,000 Johnson Horse Transportation Welcome, aboard Cleaveland. Waters crossed the timers in 38.526. Cassandra Kahle and Pyrenes De Louzes were second, and Kids Killiam and Boreale De Talma third.

Derek Petersen, aboard Diamant’s Legacy, would take the lead in the jump off to earn a blue ribbon finish at the $25,000 SmartPak Grand Prix. Petersen raced to the finish with a time of 37.999 to clinch the win. Second place was Rowan Willis and Everse W, and third went to David Jennings and Caddie R.


Hayley Waters and Cleaveland
Photo: ESI Photography

Riding to first place in the $10,000 KindredBio Open Prix was Waters. She was once again aboard Cleaveland to take home the blue ribbon with a time of 36.556. Second place was Tracey Fenney and MTM Como No, and third place went to Rowan Willis & Italian Gold (37.810).

Brian Moggre and MTM Flutterby would take the win in the $10,000 1.35m Jumper Classic with a time of 35.147. He would also take second with MTM Los Angeles. Third place was Tracy Magness and Intenz Van HD.

Moggre would finish the week strong with a win in the $50,000 HITS Grand Prix aboard MTM Vivre Le Reve. Moggre, the only junior to compete, would clock a time of 41.839 to take the blue ribbon. Second place was Fenney and MTM Reve Du Paradis. Devin Ryan and Eddie Blue came in third.

Brian Moggre and MTM Vivre Le Reve in the presentation ceremony of the $50,000 HITS grand prix. Photo: ESI Photography

The Hunters started off their qualifying circuit for the HITS Championship, held annually at HITS Saugerties in September.

Riders came in ready to win, (but only one would take home the blue) in the $1,500 Platinum Performance Hunter Prix. Erin Brody, aboard Forever would receive a score of 83 in the first round, followed by an 86 in the second round to win the class with a total score of 169. Anneliese De Rosaire & KT Caraco had a score of 164 for second place, and Kate Phillips and Chino totalled 161 for third.

Amanda Steege and Lafitte De Muze
Photo: ESI Photography

Earning the winning ride in the $5,000 Devoucoux Hunter Prix was Amanda Steege and Lafitte De Muze. They scored an 84 in the first round and an 88 in the second round for a combined total of 172. Kahle & Garsino scored 168 for second, and Morgan Ward and Cypress were third with a 167.

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed