New Venue as FEI World Cup™ Finals Return to Las Vegas in 2020

© LVVB: MGM Grand Las Vegas
MGM Grand Hotel

Las Vegas Events, Inc. announced today that the Longines FEI World Cup™ Jumping Final and FEI World Cup™ Dressage Final are returning to Las Vegas, the Entertainment Capital of the World, in 2020. The International Equestrian Federation (FEI) allocated the Finals to Las Vegas following the great success of the Finals when they were last held there in 2015. The 2020 Finals will be hosted at a new venue, the MGM Grand Garden Arena, on April 15-19.

The FEI World Cup™ Finals are the biggest annual indoor championship for jumping and dressage horses. The world’s top competitors, including Olympic, World and European champions, come from all over the globe to compete for the title of FEI World Cup™ Champion. This will mark the seventh time that Las Vegas will host the FEI World Cup™ Finals following 2000 and 2003 when it hosted the Jumping Finals, and 2005, 2007, 2009 and 2015 when it hosted both the Jumping and Dressage Finals at the Thomas & Mack Center.

“We are delighted that the FEI has again chosen Las Vegas to host the FEI World Cup™ Finals,” said Pat Christenson, President of Las Vegas Events, Inc. “The city of Las Vegas is known worldwide for excitement and its ability to showcase world-class events. We have no doubt that the 2020 Finals are going to be the best World Cup Finals ever.”

The new venue, the MGM Grand Garden Arena, is located in the MGM Grand Hotel on the world-famous Las Vegas Strip and is world renowned for hosting live performances from global superstars including Celine Dion, Elton John and Britney Spears, as well as high-profile sporting events such as boxing and basketball.

© MGM: MGM Grand Garden Arena
MGM Grand Garden Arena

The announcement was made during the FEI Bureau meeting in Tokyo on November 19 when several championship event allocations were announced. “The organizing committees for all these top events have such hands-on practical experience, and understand the process, commitment and dedication involved in organizing these important fixtures on the FEI Calendar,” said FEI Secretary General Sabrina Ibáñez. “We are very grateful to all the organizers who put in bids for these key events and are extremely happy to have the opportunity to showcase our sport in major global cities.”

The FEI World Cup™ Dressage Final was first held in 1986 and features the world’s best dressage horses and riders. A total of 31 Finals have been held through 2016, and the United States has won the championship twice – in 2003 (Debbie McDonald with Brentina) and 2009 (Steffen Peters with Ravel). The Final has been held in the U.S. five times previously, in Los Angeles (1995) and Las Vegas (2005, 2007, 2009, 2015).

Started in 1979, the FEI World Cup™ Jumping Final is an annual international showdown among the world’s best show jumping horses and riders. In the 38 Finals held through 2016, Germany (10) and the United States (9) have emerged with the most titles. Previous FEI World Cup™ Jumping Finals held in the United States include Baltimore (1980), Tampa (1989), Del Mar, CA (1992) and Las Vegas (2000, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2015). The Longines FEI World Cup™ Jumping Final and FEI World Cup™ Dressage Final will be held in the U.S. in 2017 in Omaha, Nebraska, March 29-April 2.

Ticket information for the 2020 Finals in Las Vergas will be announced at a later date. Fans are encouraged to visit the event’s official website at and sign up for breaking news and information.

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed