Sometimes You Win, Sometimes You Lose

First Class van Eeckelghem Didn’t Survive Colic Attack
Two times bad news at Stephex Stables this week. First Emilie Conter’s junior horse Cezanne died from colics and a few days later the Olympic team bronze medallist First Class van Eeckelghem (Daniel Deusser) followed his way to heaven. First Class made his breakthrough by becoming German Champion. He also placed in the top ten individually on the Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro last year.

Aikido Z to Nicola Philippaerts
Nicola Philippaerts has a new ride in the 11-year-old gelding Aikido Z (Accardi), which competed successfully with Jeroen Appelen and Jan Motmans at CSI2 and 3* level. Aikido Z and Nicola Philippaerts jumped for the first time together this weekend at CSIO3* Roeser in Luxembourg.

Guery’s Instit de Jucaso for Julien Epaillard
The winner of the Paris Grand Prix Julien Epaillard from France also debuted a new horse near the Eiffel tower. Grégoire Oberson’s 9 years old gelding, Instit de Jucaso (Cooper vd Heffinck) has moved from Belgium to his new French rider. The talented gelding has been produced up to 1.50m level by Jerome Guery from Belgium.

Italy in the lead in Division I FEI Nations Cup League
The Italian squad was never so strong. Thanks to Lorenzo de Luca, Alberto Zorzi, Piergiorgio Bucci and several other strong team members, they won the Nations Cups in Rome and Sankt-Gallen and now they are in the lead in the standings of the first division of the FEI Nations Cup series. Sweden is lies second before France. Belgium is leading in Division II and with only one more qualifier to come in Gijon, they cannot be beaten anymore. Thus, the Belgians are already qualified for the final in Barcelona.

Hamburg Derby winner sold to Meredith Michaels-Beerbaum
This year’s prestigious Hamburg derby winner Zera 23 (Cero) is sold to Meredith and Markus Beerbaum’s stable. Previously owned by her rider, Slovenia’s Pato Muente, and her breeder Harm Thormaehlen she will continue her sport career under Meredith Michaels beerbaum’s saddle. Zera is a mare from the family of Fein Cera (Peter Wylde).

New record price for Z Online Auction
The Zangersheide Online Auction has reached a new top price. Cascade Heureka Z (Casall) was sold for no less than 105.000 euro. The two-year-old mare is a grand daughter of Dermott Lennon’s World championship winner at Jerez de la frontera in 2002, Liscalgot. The online auctions are getting more popular in Europe this year, as also Paul Schockemöhle started his own online foal auction. Zangersheide comes up with another breeding auction for all the broodmares and foals of Ashford Farm, such as the Grand Prix mares Ode des Roches and Omnirale Courcelle.

In August, an auction website linked to Stal De Muze, is coming up with another embryo and young horse edition. Two and three-year-olds will be presented on video by loose jumping. All horses and embryos come from the best damlines in Europe and are sired by top stallions like Cornet Obolensky, Comme Il Faut, Diamant de Semilly, Casall, Casallo Z, …

Zandor Z Deceased
Studbook Zangersheide has announced that their top stallion Zandor Z (Zeus) has passed away last weekend aged 28. The stallion has performed at the highest level under Jos Lansink’s saddle and has produced several international winners like for example Zekina Z , Zeta de Hus, Urico, Zorro Z, Royalty des Isles or ZZ Top vd Schaarbroek just to mention some.

New Horse for Jos Verlooy
Belgium’s Jos Verlooy has a new 5* international GP ride in the 13 years old Selle Français stallion, Quebracho de Semilly (Le Tot de Semilly). The powerful chesnut stallion has jumped up to 1.60m classes under Alexandr Onyshchenko and his riders. With Cassio Rivetti, Quebracho de Semilly took runner-up position at Hardelot GP and under Katharina Offel, he was 2nd at CSI5* La Coruna. Quebracho de Semilly was one of the 44 Onyshchenko horses that went over in Paul Schockemöhle’s hands last year.

Pessoa is the first chef d’equipe launching the team

End of August there is the important European Championship in Gothenburg. The first team squad was announced by Rodrigo Pessoa, the chef d’equipe for Ireland. The names:

Bertram Allen / Hector vd Abdijhoeve or Molly Malone V
Marc McAuley / Utcham de Belhème
Shane Breen / Golden Hawk
Cian O’Connor / Good Luck
Daniel Coyle / Cita or Grafton
Denis Lynch / All Star 5 or RMF Echo

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed